Governor details and interests
The Governing Body of East Claydon School has 9 members. There are:
Parent Governors – representatives but not delegates of parents.
Foundation Governors – represent the church and wider community but is not their delegate.
One Local Education Authority Governor – appointed by the LEA.
One Staff Governor – who represents all school staff but is not their delegate.
The Headteacher

Appointing bodies:
Parent Governors – elected by parents at the school.
Foundation Governors – appointed by the Governing Body.
Local Education Authority Governor – appointed by Bucks County Council.
Staff Governors – elected by staff employed by the school.

Governing Body structure
Full Governing Body meetings are held three times per school year. In addition there are a number of committees and governors that have specific responsibilities. These committees all report back to the Full Governing Body.

  • Strategic Planning Committee – sets the strategic agenda for the Governing Body and the School.
  • Teaching and Learning Committee – deals with the Curriculum and attainment of pupils.
  • Finance Committee – oversees budgets and staff.
  • General Purposes – deals with buildings, grounds, Health & Safety

Some Governors have additional responsibilities:

  • Chair of Governors – The Chair is a key leadership role, leading the governing body and working in partnership with the headteacher to ensure continuous school improvement.
  • Vice Chair – supports the Chair and takes on the role of Chairing individual committees.
  • Safeguarding Governor – ensures the implementation and maintenance of appropriate safeguarding practices in the school.
  • Health & Safety Governor – ensures that the school and the site are compliant with Health & Safety legislation.
  • Special Educational Needs Governor – takes a lead on ensuring that the needs of vulnerable learners are met.
  • Early Years Governor – ensures that there is effective monitoring of EYFS provision.
  • Equalities Governor – ensures that the school promotes equality and ensures that equality of opportunity is available to all.
  • Development Governor – supports the training and development needs of the Governing Body

Spring Term 2020 List of Govenors:

Rowan Brims – Chair of Governors

Jo Cannon – Co-Vice Chair and Safeguarding Governor

Nick Abrams – Co-Vice Chair and Chair of the Finance Committee

Sally Taylor – Chair of the Teaching and Learning Committee and SEND Governor and Parent Governor

Aimee Dovbenko – Parent Governor

Helen Gridley – Staff Governor

Rickey Simpson-Gray – Foundation Ex-Offficio Governor (C of E)

Dawn Iverson – Data Protection Governor

Victoria Claridge – Foundation Governor

Chris Harrison – Foundation Governor

Noel Harvey – Foundation Governor


Click here for a list of:
Constitution East Claydon September 2019
Governor Attendance 2017-2018
Governor Attendance 2018-2019
Governor Attendance 2019-2020